- A. If a switch that is configured to operate in client mode cannot access a VTP server, then the switch reverts to transparent mode.
- B. On switches that are configured to operate in client mode, VLANs can be created, deleted, or renamed locally.
- C. The local VLAN configuration is updated only when an update that has a higher configuration revision number is received.
- D. VTP advertisements are not forwarded to neighboring switches that are configured in VTP transparent mode.
- E. VTP client is the default VTP mode.
- F. When switches in VTP client mode are rebooted, they send a VTP advertisement request to the VTP servers.
VLAN Trunking Protocol (VTP)
VTP Modes –
Server Mode Once VTP is configured on a Cisco switch, the default mode used is Server Mode. In any given VTP management domain, at least one switch must be in Server Mode. When in Server Mode, a switch can be used to add, delete, and modify VLANs, and this information will be passed to all other switches in the
VTP management domain. Client Mode When a switch is configured to use VTP Client Mode, it is simply the recipient of any VLANs added, deleted, or modified by a switch in Server Mode within the same management domain. A switch in VTP client mode cannot make any changes to VLAN information.
Transparent Mode A switch in VTP Transparent Mode will pass VTP updates received by switches in Server Mode to other switches in the VTP management domain, but will not actually process the contents of these messages. When individual VLANs are added, deleted, or modified on a switch running in transparent mode, the changes are local to that particular switch only, and are not passed to other switches in the VTP management domain.